DEC alerts hunters to changes

Changes to Fall Hunting Hours and Sign-In Rules at Perch River and Wilson Hill WMAs

WATERTOWN, NY —  The New York State Department of Environmental Conservation (DEC) is advising waterfowl hunters that hours and sign-in procedures have changed at two Region 6 wildlife management areas (WMAs) to minimize the potential spread of COVID-19. Hunting hours at Perch River WMA (Jefferson County) and Wilson Hill WMA (St Lawrence County) will be from one-half-hour before sunrise until noon. Hunters must leave the restricted areas by 2 p.m.

The sign-in process has changed to eliminate hunters’ contact with sign-in books. On opening day, hunters must first visit the designated check stations at the WMAs. DEC staff will be at the check station at 5 a.m. on opening day and waterfowl hunters will be given a registration card to fill out and carry with them during their hunt. Once their hunt is completed, hunters will record their harvest on the back of the card and leave the card at the designated check station.

On all other days of the Northeast Zone waterfowl hunting season, hunters must collect a registration card from the check station or dedicated registration kiosks on the day of the hunt prior to entering the restricted areas and return the cards after their hunt.

For more information on DEC hunting seasons and regulations visit the DEC website ( or contact the regional wildlife office at: 315-785-2263.  While enjoying outdoor spaces, DEC encourages visitors to PLAY SMART * PLAY SAFE * PLAY LOCAL and follow the Centers for Disease Control (CDC)/DOH guidelines for the preventing the spread of colds, flu, and COVID-19. Visit to learn more.