Watertown City School District Hall of Achievement adds nine inductees

WATERTOWN, NY —  Since 2001, the Watertown City School District has inducted 51 individuals into its Distinguished Alumni Hall of Achievement.

The Hall’s primary objectives are to recognize and celebrate the achievements of Watertown High School graduates by honoring those who have attained a high
level of distinction in their lives and provide positive role models for students of the District.

Inductees were named in 2001, 2003, 2005, 2010, and 2014, and are appropriately honored with plaques in the lobby of Case Middle School.

Additional nominees were sought from May through October 2020. Selections were made based on the demonstration of an outstanding and unique contribution or level of service to community, profession, or other good cause at the local, regional, national, or international level. Graduates must have graduated at least 10 years prior.

The Watertown City School District Distinguished Alumni Hall of Achievement Committee is pleased to announce the following nine new inductees, by class year:

Richard A. Dillin (Class of 1946)
Mr. Dillin was an American comics artist best known for a l2-year run as an illustrator of the DC Comics superhero-team series Justice League of America. He drew 115 issues from 1968 until his death in 1980. As one of the nation’s most prolific comic book artists’ his work included Superman, Batman, Wonder Woman, Green Lantern and Blackhawk.

Eugene M. Renzi (Class of 1948)
Dr. Renzi is a retired Watertown obstetrician and gynecologist. After service as an Army physician, he practiced for more than 40 years, delivering thousands of north country children. He has been active in various medical and community organizations, several of which he has served in consultant and leadership roles.

Alan K. Percy (Class of 1956)
Dr. Percy is known internationally for his work and research in the clinical neurosciences. Having been affiliated with Stanford University, the National Institutes of Health, UCLA and Baylor College of Medicine, he is currently professor of pediatrics, neurology, neurobiology, genetics, and psychology and the former head of child neurology at the University of Alabama at Birmingham School of Medicine. He is a highly recognized authority on Rett syndrome and related neurodevelopmental disorders.

Mary-Margaret Humes (Class of 1972)
Ms. Humes is an actress, having made appearances in more than 50 national network television programs, including six seasons on Warner Bros.’ Dawson’s Creek. She has guest starred in several shows, including Matlock Murphy Brown, Eerie Indiana, Grey’s Anatomy, CSI: Crime Scene Investigation and Criminal Minds, as well as a number of Hallmark Channel television movies.

Mary Gay Scanlon (Class of 1976)
Congresswoman Scanlon, an education and human rights advocate and attorney,
currently represents Pennsylvania’s 5th Congressional District. She was first sworn into the United States House of Representatives in 2018. She previously served as national counsel at a major US law firm, where she directed and supervised over 600 lawyers in 15 offices in providing more than 50,000 hours of pro bono legal services annually to low-income clients and non-profit organizations.

James Berkman (Class of 1978)
Mr. Berkman is a nationally recognized leader in the sport of lacrosse and the head coach of the Salisbury University men’s lacrosse program. In his 33 seasons, he has had 560 wins, the most in NCAA history in any division, including 12 national championships and is a National Lacrosse Hall of Fame inductee.

William A. Cliby (Class of 1979)
Dr. Cliby is a gynecologic oncologist, surgical consultant and professor at the Mayo Clinic College of Medicine and Science. In addition to his clinical practice, he is active in research and education nationally, including seruice as a fellowship program director and as the author of 22O peer-reviewed publications.

Robert L. Barry (Class of 1981)
Mr. Barry is an engineer, inventor, and co-founder/CEO of four medical device
companies. He holds more than 30 patents in the fields of cardiology, radiology,
pulmonology and thoracic surgery.

Maggie Rizer Mehran (Class of 1996)
Ms. Rizer Mehran has had an extensive and highly successful modeling career, having appeared on the covers of major fashion magazines, and walked runways at countless shows for internationally renowned companies. She has remained active in supporting and increasing awareness of various charitable causes.

“The committee’s work was quite challenging. We were reminded of the outstanding and diverse accomplishments of our graduates. So many have achieved great success in their careers and have also made valuable contributions to their communities and the world,” said Rande Richardson, Hall of Achievement committee chair and 1988 WHS graduate. “There is much to celebrate. We look forward to sharing their stories in more depth with the community and our students as well as welcoming additional inductees in future years.”

“During this unprecedented time, it is important for all of us to reflect on and be reminded of the good in the world,” said Superintendent LaBarr, Watertown City School District “It is an honor and a pleasure to recognize and celebrate the achievements of Watertown High School graduates who have attained a high level of distinction in their personal and/or professional lives.”

The committee is now discussing various options to formally recognize inductees later this year and provide greater biographical information. The committee also hopes to strengthen ties among graduates through the creation of a more formal alumni organization and process to accept future nominations on a regularly scheduled basis,

Committee members:
Rande Richardson, 88, Chair
Kenneth Forbes, student
Jeri Grant Gosier ’02
Michele Gehring Jeican ’84
Patricia LaBarr
Neicia Smith, student
Dr. Jason White ’92

Previous inductees:
Floyd L. Bajjaly
Gary C. Beasley
Jerry J. Belden
Martha E. Bellinger
Justin Burns
Karl R. Burns
David N. Camaione
W. Henry Case
Richard D. Chapin
Alice Ottersland Cooper
Delos M. Cosgrove
Jeffrey L. Cougler
George Emerson Cox, Jr.
Marc D. Donohue
Frederick E. Exley
Roger A. Gallup
Catherine Common Johnson
Joan Marsh Jones
Ted Keegan
Robeft S, Lansing
Ian S. Lustick
David S. Lustick
Rita Frattali Mackey
Anthony C. Malara
John M. McHugh
Linda Terrell Mitchell
Karen L. Morris
Viggo Mortensen
Carol A. Pflugheber
Robert A. Piche
Robert W. Purcell
Peter H. Remington
Lorraine Adams Revelle
Joseph L. Rich
Brent l. Richardson
Rande S. Richardson
Bruce E. Rippeteau
Georgia A. Root
Richard F. Schwerzmann
Jack Scordo
ArthurJ. Seaman
Craig P. Sirianni
Allen L. Smith
Samuel J. Stabins
Francis E. Sweet
Steven A. Van Slyke
D. Peter VanEenenaam
Arthur E. Williams
William M. Wolf
John L. Woodward, Jr.
Kenneth Zeigler